You Have It Way Too Easy — And That Screws up Your Happiness

On the joy of tackling simple urgent problems

David B. Clear
5 min readSep 16, 2022
Al images by the author.

After some reflection, I’ve come to the conclusion that the following are all horrible inventions:

  • homes,
  • refrigerators/pantries, and
  • maps.

They in no way contribute to my happiness. In fact, all three are likely to make me miserable. And they’re probably making you miserable too, even if you don’t realize it.

But I didn’t always think that way. For a long time, I thought having a place I can reliably find refuge in is a good thing. I thought having a place I can depend on for food is what I need. I was even so foolish as to think that I should know where I’m going.

But now I’m wiser. I’ve finally realized how harmful it is to have my basic needs covered so easily.

We’re supposed to struggle for survival

You know what our brains are, right? They are wet squishy blood-infused machines that have evolved over millions of years for two purposes only:

  1. To protect our testicles/ovaries for long enough to reproduce.
  2. To protect our children's testicles/ovaries for long enough to give them a chance…

--

--

David B. Clear

Cartoonist, science fan, PhD, eukaryote. Doesn't eat cats, dogs, nor other animals. 1,000x Bottom Writer. davidbclear.com